Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Novice

Yet Another Newbie

Well, another novice here. About the only whiskey I had owned was Jack Daniels then I 'upgraded' to Gentlemen Jack. I wanted to try something else and someone recommended Elijah Craig, which I tried, but I wasn't really happy with that. I tried some Knob Creek one night at a bar and thought that was pretty good. So started reading up a bit on Bourbons which lead me here.

Been reading a lot of posts getting some info and today headed over to the liquor store to see what was available. Well they don't carry a lot of the brands I read about here and the prices are also a bit higher than some I see posted here. You know, being a newbie and reading all the info here certainly prepared me for what to look for, but it was very difficult deciding what to get, trying to recall all the BOTM reviews I'd read and keeping in mind that I wanted to start out on the lower end of the premium cost spectrum.

Anyway I ended up with a bottle of Russell's Reserve 90 (25.95) and a Buffalo Trace (21.95) to start out. So I tasted them both tonight, and although it was just the first impression, so far I liked both of them. Didn't really have a favorite of the two right from the git go. I can't really describe the flavors, never really been too good at that kind of thing. But it seemed that the BT was smoother than the WTRR, but the WTRR was maybe a little more interesting, some more depth, and a little more spicy. They both have much more flavor than the the Gentlemen Jack and I prefered the taste of these over the EC 12. Can't recall the KC enough to compare.

I may get a 3rd bottle to try out against these 2. Any recommendations on what I might want to try. If I remember correctly my limited options, in addition to the standard fare of WT, JB, EW, etc, are as follows. Probably should remove some of these, because I'm not really ready to spend $40 a bottle quite yet.
    Eagle Rare