Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello!

Taster

Hello!

After lurking on this site for about 3 months I figure I might as well start posting. I've been drinking bourbon for about the past 3 years, but have only been serious for about the past 6 months. Its been tough for me to distinguish all of the flavors, but I am finally starting to get it... how long did it take any of you to really develop a palette?

A few of my favorites are Booker's, Eagle Rare 10 yr & Knob creek, but I know there are a ton out there that I NEED to taste.

For all those California (especially Bay Area) posters, where do you shop? I find that Bev Mo just doesn't have that decent of a selection, espeically for the higher end bourbons.

I work as a spirits analyst for a large grocery chain, so its nice to kind of have an "in" to the different distilleries/companies, as they are always willing to answer my questions - unfortunately I am not allowed to ask for bottles (bummer!).

I have definitely learned a lot from this site and look forward to learning more!

Kevin

Re: Hello!

Well, I think you need to taste Blantons and Elijah Craig 18 year old, and I think both of those are available at Bevmo. These are my two favorite bourbons. The choices you've identified are good pours, although I didn't love the Knob Creek. You should also give Maker's Mark a shot as an accessible, affordable pour.

Joel
    "Oh Bother!" said Pooh as he slapped another magazine in his AK-47...

http://vinesnwines.blogspot.com

Virtuoso

Quote Originally Posted by VERITAS View Post
    A few of my favorites are Booker's, Eagle Rare 10 yr & Knob creek, but I know there are a ton out there that I NEED to taste.

For all those California (especially Bay Area) posters, where do you shop? I find that Bev Mo just doesn't have that decent of a selection, espeically for the higher end bourbons.
    Kevin
    Kevin,