Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.

Thread: Thank You

Connoisseur

Thank You

Hello,

I've already made a few posts before introducing myself. I guess I did this because I met several of you at the KBF. Thanks for the information I've gained on this site.

I've been drinking for more than 50 years. In my college days I drank Old Overholt and Lairds Applejack, because that was the best my budget could afford. As my budget and tastes expanded I eventually became a single malt and VSOP/XO drinker. My experience with bourbon was limited to a bottle passed around a campfire (usually doctored into a sickening sweet syrupy liquid) or the Old Crab Orchard that the Flight Surgeon passed out after a combat mission. Old Crab Orchard tasted fine at the debriefing (so would grain alcohol) but I'd never buy it.

Thanks to the tutelage I gained at the KBF, both at the distilleries and especially at the gazebo, I learned that bourbon can be a fine sipping whiskey. Most of the single barrels will stand up with single malts and cognacs. Even some of the cheaper bourbons have character, both on the nose and pallet (example: Henry McKenna @ < $17/1.75 liter). I Will now make the same statement about bourbon that I make about scotch: There's no such thing as bad bourbon, but there is over priced bourbon.

Has anyone else had trouble printing the acronyms? I can print the Terminology but the Bottlings doesn't print.

If there are any Old Crab Orchard lovers out there, please tell me some of your other favorite brands so that I can put those at the bottom of my list of bourbons to try.

Stu

Re: Thank You

Good to 'see' you again, Stu. I'm amused that out of the Gazebo bottles, the one you mention is the standard Henry McKenna . I realize, and agree with, the point you're making. Still, I hope you found one or two other bottles you liked.
    Tim

Connoisseur

Tim,