Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Which Bourbon for a new guy?

Hello,

I'm new to Bourbon and drinking in general. I drink a lot of Crown Royal Canadian Whiskey with diet coke and want to learn to appreciate some finer Whiskey's. Could you make some recommendations as to which is the best Bourbon to start with as I have not yet acquired a taste for it?

I have recently went through a bunch of Jim Beam white label mixed in cocktails and with water but am wanting something a bit more upscale as I learn to appreciate Bourbon.

I guess the only criteria is that I have a hard time with the strong stuff that "burns" going down. I have searched but have not found an answer to this question.

Thanks a million!

Bourbonian of the Year 2010 and Guru

Re: Which Bourbon for a new guy?

This is a bit of a problem to figure out...while there are many upscale bourbons out there to be discovered, many of the higher echelon are higher in proof, which can tend to "burn" someone who is not used to them. And they also tend to be a bit mre pricey than many people are willing to pay.

If you are not afraid to part with a bit of money, you may like Basil Hayden, a quite nice, upscale bottling with little burn due to it's lower proof.

You may also like to stay with some of the nicer Canadians until you get more acquainted with what you describe as a burn, man of these whiskies are still quite upscale and have fine flavor...though they may be hard to find in a bar, but not quite so in a liquor store...try the Canadian Club 12yo, Crown Reserve as both these are fairly available.

I'm not sure if you intend to drink these "neat" or what but as you get more accustomed to these you should be able to extend your reach and try more intense bottlings as you gain experience.
    2010 Bourbonian of the Year

As long as you have good whiskey you're not "unemployed", you're "Funemployed!!!"

I'm no Pappyophile

Guru