Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.

Thread: Recommendations

Hybrid View

Recommendations

Hey guys - I'm new to Bourbon - have tried a few bottles over the past month or so.

So far, I like: Eagle Rare Single Barrel, Wild Turkey Rare Breed, Makers Mark

Wasn't too fond of: Knob Creek, Evan Williams Single Barrel

NC and EWSB were both good - but the spicey/licorice flavor wasn't to my taste. Given that, wondering if anyone has recommendations - other Bourbons they think I'd like.

Virtuoso

Re: Recommendations

Sleepies, Welcome

The trend I see in your likes and dislikes (except for the WT) is a preference for a minimal rye character - perhaps sweetness as well.

Some other low-rye/sweetish bourbons you might like are Old Charter, Elmer T Lee, or Buffalo Trace. To my tastebuds Beam products, Old Forester, Heaven Hill, and Four Roses all have profiles that emphasize the rye more than the three Buffalo Trace products listed.

Some wheat bourbons you might like are Van Winkle (anything but rye) or Weller (anything).

I think you may find Weller 12 and Lot B very much to your liking. If you want more intensity, Weller Antique or Van Winkle 15 are good examples of younger and older brethren at 107 proof instead of 90.

Roger

PS - "Lot B" is short for Van Winkle Special Reserve 12 Year Old 90.4 proof

Enthusiast

Quote Originally Posted by Sleepies View Post
    Hey guys - I'm new to Bourbon - have tried a few bottles over the past month or so.

So far, I like: Eagle Rare Single Barrel, Wild Turkey Rare Breed, Makers Mark

Wasn't too fond of: Knob Creek, Evan Williams Single Barrel

NC and EWSB were both good - but the spicey/licorice flavor wasn't to my taste. Given that, wondering if anyone has recommendations - other Bourbons they think I'd like.
    I agree, you'd probably like Elmer T Lee, Weller 12 (a very good buy), and any of the Van Winkle products.

-Kevin

Guru