Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Virtuoso

Hello all... yet another newbie here!

Hi all,

I recently fell in love with bourbon (a few months ago), and I have this forum to thank!

I've had a fair bit of experience with WT101 but that was a good while ago (younger days), and back then I was mostly just drinking it to cop a buzz and wasn't really savoring the flavor, and the WT101 was the only bourbon I had ever tried. Most of my drinking experience is with tequila, which I've been drinking for around 25 years (started out with the Cuervo Gold mostly for the buzz/party factor, but discovered and began savoring the 100% agave stuff for about the past 10 years). I eventually got to where I was mostly liking the real expensive (~$100/bottle) 'extra aged' tequilas, but I finally decided that the prices were killing me. So I made a run for the border and decided to try some bourbon again.

Not knowing much at all about bourbon, I went to the liquor store and asked the guy for recommendations. The first bottle I came out with was Knob Creek. It was ok, but it didn't really 'wow' me. Then I got online and found this forum and started reading as much as I could to get ideas. I found out about the difference between wheated bourbon and bourbon made with rye, and saw that Van Winkle was mentioned a lot. So I went and bought me two new bottles, one of the Lot B and one of the Pappy 15 (I was used to spending $100 on tequila, so it was not too hard). Got home and tried the Lot B...THAT'S IT! I was officially hooked right then and there. Later when I tried the Pappy 15, I was even more blown away.

I've found my 'true spiritual calling' (in the distilled sense) in bourbon!