Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Novice

What about Jack?

Hey to all. I'm VERY new to bourbon. I'm currently working my way through a bottle of Knob Creek. My first question for all of you here is, what about Jack Daniels? I know it's not a bourbon, but I had some Jack black a few weeks ago, and really enjoyed it. I'm also interested in learing more about their line of premium/small batch stuff like Gentlemen Jack and others. Thanks for your input in advance.

Guru

Re: What about Jack?

B.L.,

Welcome! You'll find a few folks here who enjoy JD. There's even a forum called "Other American Whiskey", or something like that, where you will find discussions about it.

I've been drinking bourbon for only a few years now. In contrast you'll find many members who compare today's bottlings to those of decades past. Living in an area where there's no chance of finding a so-called "dusty bottle" of an old bottling, I usually skip over those discussions.

Although the term "small batch" is a marketing term with no agreed meaning, its application to Gentleman Jack is probably not appropriate. As I understand it, GJ is the same as No. 7 but for being filtered not once but twice through a 10 foot-deep vat of hard maple charcoal. I used to drink it regularly, but I haven't had an open bottle on the shelf for a few years.

JD does have a premium bottling that I drink a few times a year. It's the Single Barrel. I hadn't had any for a while, and then I bought a bottle last year right after I had a drink of it at the Prescott (AZ) Rodeo, of all places -- served in a plastic cup. I'm not sure it's worth its cost on a regular basis (I feel the same about $40+ bourbons that I enjoy), but the first bottle is probably worth the cost just for the educational value -- all the more so for fans of JD No. 7.