Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Hybrid View

Connoisseur

Let's talk Scotch

I'm in the market for a good bottle, and two of my main considerations are:

The Balvenie 15 Year Single Barrel
    The Macallan Cask Strength

They are about the same price. The Macallan is stronger but The Balvenie is older. Has anyone tried them both? If so, which did you prefer?

Of course, I'm not limited to these two. Also considering the likes of Highland Park 18, The Macallan Fine Oak 15, not sure what else to look at...

Connoisseur

Re: Let's talk Scotch

I have only tried a few Scotches, so I am no expert. I can't recall who on SB recommended Aberlour A'bunadh to me...but it has been a big hit. Everyone I have introduced it to has gone out and picked up a bottle. Beautiful deep color, wonderful spicy nose, the taste is full of black cherry and dried fruit, the finish is strong and full of sherry.
    Here in WA it sells $60, and it's a bottle I always make a point of having. I have tried the Balvenie 12 and a few of the Macallan's, I would personally take the A'bunadh over the ones I have tried. If someone has had the specific bottles your interested in and they recommend them over the A'bunadh, then I will have to give it a try...
    Todd

Bourbonian of the Year 2010 and Guru

I like the Highland Park 18 (heck I just like HP) also The Glenlivet Naddura and Springbank(any, you can't go wrong)
    2010 Bourbonian of the Year

As long as you have good whiskey you're not "unemployed", you're "Funemployed!!!"

I'm no Pappyophile

Enthusiast

I'd also recommend the Highland Park. I've only had the 12 and the 15. Never had the 18. The Highland 12 runs about 30 bucks here. The Glenlivet Nadura is also really good although it's a little more costly at around $50 here.