Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
    Taster

Hello from Long Island

Hi, I'm from Long Island and recently found out that a) JD is NOT bourbon and b) I like bourbon. Bought a bottle of Woodford Reserve (i know, but I'm a newbie) and found a bourbon thread on bladeforums.com started by mongo (pocket knives and whiskey go well together - everyone here should check it out).

Anyhew, went to the local big warehouse (non-chain) store where they had Blantons Bakers, Basil Haydens, Russell Reserve 90, Rare Breed, Maker's Mark, Bulleit, Knob Creek, WT 101 and so on. Picked up a bottle of the RR90 last weekend but haven't had a chance to try any due to migraines, stomach virus, death in the family, death in my wife's family (it's been a bad week - can't wait for a pour or two). But already, just by smelling the bottle, I can tell that the RR is going to be more flavorful than the WR.

Went to a smaller higher priced store yesterday. Turned out the proprietor is a bourbon nut and had all of the previously listed plus Four Roses and Buffalo Trace. And he said he'll order others if I'm interested.

So, I think my plan is to "back into" a cheaper daily pour. I think once I put a dent in what I already have, I'll have to compare BT to WT 101. what do you think?

Virtuoso

Re: Hello from Long Island

Welcome to the board from another knife guy!! I carry a Kershaw (go figure) Wild Turkey, it's a ATS-34 blade with G-10 scales no longer made. Seem common with many good things with the same name!!!

Glad your here and hope you enjoy the journey! This is the start of a long educational process! Drink Deeply!

Cheers!

Tony
    "So long as the presence of death lurks with anyone who goes through the simple act of swallowing, I will make mine whiskey"

Bourbonian of the Year 2006

Welcome.
    As a reformed, transplanted Yankee from Long Island, I recommend visiting Kentucky ASAP.

Forget about LIPA, Keyspan and the traffic.