Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Apprentice

Help a newbie in MI

Hello, I live in Metro Detroit and I am extremely new to bourbon. My sipping whiskey of choice has been Gentleman Jack (I can hear the jeers). I had a bottle of Maker's Mark and thought it was only ok, but I didn't want to give up on bourbon just yet (and retreat to GJ).

My second purchase was Woodford Reserve thinking it was "top shelf" and if I liked it then I'd be hooked on bourbon, but if I didn't then I'd know for sure that bourbon wasn't for me. The WR is most definitely better than the MM.

So I have two questions...First, what would you recommend a newbie that's in the $25-$35 per 750ml range (my Woodford Reserve was $33 OTD)?

Second question is, how does one discover that they are a "bourbon guy" vs. a "scotch guy"? My Dad drinks scotch, but when I've tasted single malt it's only served to remind me why they started blending it in the first place.

Thanks for the info

-Taggerung

Apprentice

Re: Help a newbie in MI

I also like Gentleman Jack. bourbon has a more refined, elegant taste than Tennessee whiskey. The extra step of TN. going through Charcoal gives it a rougher edge. I also was a heavy Scotch drinker years ago. That was clearly more cleaner of a taste than Bourbon.

For me the difference is Corn and and Sweetness. The corn in the mashbill is what sets it apart and gioves it that distictive taste, as well as the simple blends of the other grains.

I am not a Makers Mark guy probably because of the Wheat content is high.

In that price range and considering where you are coming from tastewise I would consider one of the 3 B's---Bakers, Bookers or Blantons-
    They all are top brands with a good deal of Corn in them.
    My personal favorite is Bookers. with Blanton and Bakers close behind.

I am also not Woodford Reserve people for some reason. But I have had it only 3 times. Each time it was so-so

Guru