Welcome to the Straightbourbon.com Forums.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

Is Cognac similar to Whiskey?

I am quite new to enjoying anything but vodka. I'm building a home bar and have purchased Rum, Tequila, Vodka, Whiskey and just recently Cognac.

Which brings me to this question: I purchased an XO Extra old Cognac after some research online. Well...my initial 'nosing' was it was just like my scotch whiskey. Is it suppose to be this way? Will my nose eventually be trained to distinguish the differences?

Novice

Re: Is Cognac similar to Whiskey?

Your nose will get better with time. The only thing that whisky and cognac have in common is that they are aged in barrels. Whisky in your case is made from malted barley. Cognac is made from grapes. One other thing scotch and cognac share is distillation in pot stills.

Connoisseur

VERY different spirits IMO. Cognacs tend to be smoother especially the older they get. If you try them side my side you'll taste differences immediately.

Bourbonian of the Year 2011

I agree with Vange, they don't taste the same, but in two important ways a real whisk(e)y and Cognac are alike.

First, they are both distilled at a notably low proof, somewhere around 140 give or take 10 points or so either way. This means they contain the secondary (to ethanol) constituents of fermentation which give added flavor to the drinks. Just recently I tasted Sea Wynde, an all-pot still rum which Doug has in his great liquors cabinet. There was a clear connection to the pot still element of Woodford Reserve (bourbon) and the pot still taste of a number of malt whiskies and brandies I've had.

Second, well-matured whiskies and brandies pick up a lot of wood from the barrel, and despite the different kinds of wood used for aging, the nose of a whisky, and sometimes the taste, will resemble to a degree those of a Cognac or other brandy.