Headed to Kentucky

toddinjax
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I'm off in a few weeks to tour the trail; could someone point me to a link of info to read before going? Do you need to "book" tours or can you just show up, good/bad restaurants, and any particular bottles you can only buy in KY liquor stores . Many thanks.

I found it helpful to read Charles K. Cowdery's book "Bourbon, Straight: The Uncut and Unfiltered Story of American Whiskey." Even though I've been drinking bourbon for 30 years, there's quite a bit that I didn't know about its history, the process of making it, and many of the companies that have been important to bourbon's past and present. This book helped me get up to speed and I felt that I appreciated the tours that I went on because of it.