Four Roses

foppa78
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I'm still fairly new to all bourbon not named Maker's Mark. I really want to try the 4R single barrel but am still a little confused about it. I've seen 1 store pick (OBSV) and everything else is just the normal single barrel. If it isn't a store pick, are there 8 different offerings of the single barrel? Will there be one of those 4 letter codes on the non-store picks? I don't know why but I guess I'm a little intimidated by this one and am wondering where to start.

Standard 4 roses single barrel is OBSV, store picks choose from any of the ten recipes and are often barrel proof and age stated. 

• I like it 1

4R SiB might not be the best place to start.  The OBSV is a high rye recipe and you might find it to be to hot and spicy, especially if you are used to wheaters.  That was my experience when I first tried it early in my bourbon journey.  I really regretted spending $40 on it.  More recently, after having acquired a taste for rye and higher proofers, I saw a mini at the LS so I thought I'd try it again.  Now I get it.  You might want to go that route or first try the 90 proof small batch.

• I like it 1

1 hour ago, jshleffar said:

Standard 4 roses single barrel is OBSV, store picks choose from any of the ten recipes and are often barrel proof and age stated. 

and delicious...  Enjoy. 

• I like it 1

Blake over at bourbonr made some graphics and they are better than I can explain. 

http://bourbonr.com/blog/four-roses-mash-bill/

The standard ‘four roses single barrel’ that is widely available will always be OBSV at 100 proof. Some stores will pick their own 100 proof OBSV. 

All 10 recipes are available as private selects IE a store, restaurant, or private club can buy the whole barrel. These are single barrel (obviously), cask strength, non chill filtered bourbon (THE good stuff in my opinion).