This might be bourbon's jumping the shark moment......

flahute
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

Stoli's new plans for a $150 million bourbon theme park and distillery for Kentucky Owl.

https://www.kentucky.com/news/business/bourbon-industry/article221639740.html

From the article: " According to Stoli, the design for the new Kentucky Owl Park “will be a collection of one-of-a-kind buildings that are rooted in industrial vernacular design, each of which will be carefully sited within the natural rustic landscape. Shigeru Ban’s vision for the site harkens back to the 19th century with long span steel structures that have been reinterpreted with the use of mass timber.”

Rooted in industrial vernacular.......so they give us three pyramids? What the heck?

(Full disclosure, I am an architect. I work for an award winning and internationally recognized firm so this is not an opinion from a position of envy).

This is a very odd choice.

• I like it 2

Do they not notice that batch 2 of the rye is just sitting on shelves? And batch 8 of the bourbon seems to be a slow seller too. Maybe they should figure out the right pricing and distribution stuff before building this crap

• I like it 3

I'm a troll, fol-dee-roll

And I'll eat your money for supper.

OTOH, if they build it at 7/8 scale like Disney does with its themepark downtowns, maybe people will show up.  I mean, LOTS of us drag our kids to Disney World/Land/bars so we can tell them about all the neat stuff we did when we were THEIR age.  ASIDE - Is my cynicism showing?  IF so, blame it on the Longranch Old Fashions I made tonight for Happy Hour.

This is rich.  Good find Steve.  And yes I agree if this happens it will definitely become the jump the shark moment.

This owl-themed bourbon wonderland doesn’t have a roller coaster or even a ferris wheel. I’ll bet they don’t even serve cotton candy. I’m afraid i’m out.