Love At First Taste?

G26GEN5
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

Did you like bourbon the first time you tried it or did you acquire a taste for it?

3 minutes ago, fishnbowljoe said:

The latter. :mellow:

Biba! Joe

I’m guessing that will be the case in most people.

Didn't like any alcohol at first but with bourbon it was like "this could be good, down the road..."

• I like it 1

Sh!t no. I didn’t know how to sip. I thought you consume all liquids like milk, water, or Coke: take a mouthful and swallow it. Works for beer.

The first time I actually liked it was when I thought I was the first to put Jim Beam white label in ginger ale. I was a sophomore in college. It was another 4 years before I discovered Bookers and Bakers and the joys of sipping good whisky.

• I like it 1

It has taken years to gain an appreciation for whiskey in general.  Not an overnight thing.  And I learn new things every week.

• I like it 2

Hell no! I hated beer the first time I tried it as a young teen. Whiskey, vodka and rum were things you mixed with juices or cola. Eventually a friend introduced me to a rusty nail, which in some ways is a lot like an old fashioned. That led to finally trying bourbon on the rocks, which led to trying whisky and other things neat, but we’re talking about a span of 20 to 30 years before I got to the point of preferring whiskey neat. It’s a journey, but I wish I had tried different things earlier than I did. Many things are an acquired taste, including many foods that I didn’t like when I was young and love now.

• I like it 1

I didn't hate Bourbon (or any other whiskey) at first.     ...Mostly because I didn't drink it neat.    I had usually mixed it with soda, or occasionally OJ, and liked it pretty well either way.