Closed and mothballed distilleries

Jono
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

http://www.whiskymag.com/directory/regional/usa/distilleries/

A listing of U.S. distillers....of interest, some of the closed ones:

http://www.whiskymag.com/directory/detail/majestic_distillery_mothballed.13014.html

Majestic...mothballed since 1974...however, the company has an active website: http://www.majesticdistilling.com/

I assume, like many other "distillers" the product comes from others.

http://www.majesticdistilling.com/bourbon.html

> Classic Club and Setter.....I have no experience with either.

Tortuga Rum appears to be their main product.

Other closed plants....Astor, Belmont, Old Crow, Stitzel-Weller.

I know some of the old buildings still stand...like the Kinsey site, is there any

likely rehabbing of the locations for future distilling or have they been turned into other commercial uses...warehouses, office, mfg or torn up and zoned residential etc.? Or, like Kinsey, just sitting and slowly decaying?

Old Grand-Dad and Stitzel-Weller are being used for warehousing. Beam is doing something at Old Crow; I've seen trucks there.

I haven't been by in the last few months, but Old Taylor was being torn down the last time I drove by there.

The warehouses for the Seagram's distillery in Shively have been converted for other use. These are beautiful brick warehouses with art deco accents.

The warehouses for the Seagram's distillery in Shively have been converted for other use. These are beautiful brick warehouses with art deco accents.

They are owned by a company that contracts out space for archived file storage. I wonder if the papers come out smelling of whisky?

You know, I spoke to someone last week that works for that file storage company, and she said that it smelled a lot like whiskey before they got the ricks out. Now it doesn't.