Tell Me About Wild Turkey

Seasick Sailor
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I'm new to the bourbon game. So far Wild Turkey 101 is one of my favorite bourbons at any price and far and away my favorite bourbon under $25. I'd love to hear the community's thoughts on Wild Turkey's products, its history, etc. 

Are there vintages you particularly like or dislike? LEs that you've loved or hated. Unicorns you're searching for? Let's discuss it here.

I'll start by saying that I am surprised by how much I enjoy Wild Turkey 101. I had always considered it a bottom-shelf liquor. If not for reading this forum and other blogs, I would have likely passed it up. Was this the case for anyone else? 

Edited by Seasick Sailor
  • I like it 1

WT101 has always been a solid pour indeed, it's still going strong, and arguably tasting even better these days. But get ready to be bombarded with annoying remarks and brown-paper-bag jokes when you mention your fondness of anything Turkey to the common folk. It's baffling how they manage to have such a bad reputation in the mainstream.

Also RR Single Barrel store picks were some of the best bourbons released last year in any category and price range. Never had a mediocre one.

• I like it 5

Everyone had a different palate so don't limit yourself.  I for one do not find WT 101 particularly tasty.  To my palate it is thin and hot.  But that's me and I'm not going to tell somebody that likes it that they shouldn't be drinking it.  There are things that I really like that other people may say MEH to.  That's fine. 

What do I like that I think you should try?  Any Buffalo Trace mash bill #2 (Hancock's President's Reserve, ETL, Blanton's, RHF), CEHT, KC SiB (especially the PS picks).  That's just a start.  There are as many taste profiles as there are people to drink it.  Enjoy it.  As I say, bourbon is an adventure, not a destination.