new pipe smoker with questions

rocks
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

Hi Folks,

I'm getting ready to quit cigs and move to smoking a pipe. I've got a few pipes already but I don't know anything about them so I'll tell you what it says on them. The pipes I have are:

Duncan Hill Aeroshphere

Venturi

Willard Adjustomatic

Willard Imported briar

Marxman Super Briar

Real Briar made in france

Czecho Slovak

I've been collecting them for a few years from estate sales. all of them look either new or barely broke in. I also have a few nice pipe holders, some with places to store tobacco, one is a glass jar, another looks more like a wood humidor.

My questions are...

From the list of pipes I have, which are my best?

What is a good low cost tobacco that is smooth and won't make the woman run in and beat me? (again)

The pipes I assume are my best (duncan hill, marxman, venturi) came with one of my pipe racks and was loaded with tobacco which has dried out, can I bring it back to life somehow?

Where can I find info that will teach me the proper way to smoke my pipes and care for them?

Thanks for your help,

Jacob

Hey, Jacob.

I'm a new pipe smoker, too. I don't know much about pipe brands, but it sounds like you have a great selection. You'll prob find out which ones are the best after your third or fourth bowl in each.

I found a youtube member who has lots of good advice about pipe smoking, maintenance, and enjoyment. The thing I like best about him is that he isn't a snob...he clearly enjoys his pipes and likes to share his passion. All of his videos can be found here:

http://www.youtube.com/user/PipeFriendCHS

A great starter video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2G2Pdu5UXUk