When you're having more than one

cas
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

When you are sitting down to have a few glasses of bourbon do you usually have several glasses of the same kind or do you switch from glass to glass? I find I usually switch from one to another with successive glasses, trying to discern the differences. Though I'm not very good at it. What about others on the board - how do you usually sip your bourbon?

Craig

Back in the days when I wasn't taking meds with a no-alcohol caution on the label I would often have two drinks at one sitting. (Having a third usually caused me to lose count.)

When drinking solely for enjoyment I usually stuck with one bottling. Only if my first pick didn't hit the spot would I switch.

Rarely I would set out to do a comparison so I'd have something worthwhile to post here. However, even with small pours and the best concentration I could muster I usually found myself losing my frame of reference. I have what it takes to be a drinker, but not a serious taster.

Yours truly,

Dave Morefield

I usually stick with one unless we are doing a comparison... over a long period of time I may roll through a couple, but if I start with X, I end with X unless I empty the bottle...

Tonight I oured the last 1-2 oz from my WTRR1010, I an not sure what I will have next... something that is open I am sure...

There's no hard and fast rule. I normally do not have more than 1 pour in an evening so the question is moot for me...typically. Last night though, I bounced around between Ancient Age BIB, Balvenie Doublewood 12 yr, Johnny Walker Blue and Cherry Coke.

Johnny Walker Blue and Cherry Coke.

Does that work? Not sure it sounds like something I'd like.

In an attempt to stay on topic for a change:

If I have bottles sitting around open, I tend to cycle through them, having several different ones as the mood strikes me.

Craig,