Bourbon for Christmas

sis30
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I am just getting into bourbon, but my brother-in-law is a long time connoisseur. We are heading to the west coast to visit him for Christmas and would like to do our own small tasting and also get him a nice bottle of bourbon as a present. Anyone have any suggestions as to what I should get for the tasting (3 or 4) and what I should give as a gift? I’ll be shopping in New Orleans, where I assume I’ll be able to find pretty much everything. So the basic question is: if this were a gift for you, what would you want? laugh.gif Thanks.

Well, these are just some suggestions of my favorites that would be nice for the tasting that are not too high priced:

Wild Turkey Russels Reserve ($23)

Elijah Craig 12 yr ($17)

Evan Williams Single Barrel ($22)

Woodford Reserve ($28)

The prices I listed are approximate and all 750ml sizes. In my opinion they are all reasonably priced and will not set you back a whole bunch as many others would. I can think of so many other bourbons to bring for a tasting but they would be around $40 a bottle so if you want great reasonably priced bourbons with a wide array of tasting notes you shouldn't go wrong with these...

As for the gift I really like A. H. Hirsch 16 yr (I've seen it for anywhere from $57-80) or even a bottle of Pappy Van Winkle Family Reserve 20 Yr would be nice (around $75-85). They are both phenomenal bourbons and not overly-priced like Distillers Masterpiece for example...

I am sure everyone here will have different opinions which is a good thing but I hope this opens up some ideas... cool.gif

Guest **DONOTDELETE**