Bourbon on a budget?

avery
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I'm somewhat new to the bourbon world, so I have a couple of questions. I don't have a lot of money to spend, I would say $20-25 a month or less that I would want to spend. I realize that there are a multitude of bourbons out there in this price range, but I was looking for suggestions on what to try. I would like to try a bottle or two per month, with varying characteristics. I'd like to try a wide variety so that I can get a feel for what's out there and what I like. The only bottle that I've actually owned, and not just tried, is Evan Williams 7 year. It is inexpensive and I liked it.

My second question is on tasting. Reading over the posts here, it seems that everyone has their own ideas on tasting. I'd like to be able to pick out the nuances and flavors, but I'm not sure what to look for. What characteristics do you look? Do you use a certain glass?

Thanks in advance!

Guest **DONOTDELETE**