Easy Holiday Treat

cowdery
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

Here's an easy holiday treat. Take a bottle of your favorite bourbon and insert one candy cane.

More power to you if you can get one of the crook-shaped ones in without breaking it.

It looks festive and, in time, the candy cane will dissolve, adding a minty sweetness to the liquor.

Now, and this is very important, as soon as the candy cane is in the bottle you must take a black marker and mark out the word "bourbon" wherever it appears on the label. Certain people will give you a lot of flak if you don't.

Here's an easy holiday treat. Take a bottle of your favorite bourbon and insert one candy cane.

Chuck, I remember having that served to me at a New Year's Eve party sometime shortly after I graduated high school, so around 1970 or so. It was just a family gathering, not a big, fancy party. Country people, if you will.

Anyway, it was delicious.

Tim

Chuck, I remember having that served to me at a New Year's Eve party sometime shortly after I graduated high school, so around 1970 or so. It was just a family gathering, not a big, fancy party. Country people, if you will.

Anyway, it was delicious.

Tim

I got the idea from a tour guide at Jack Daniel's, who carries the bottle all day in the pocket of his overalls so it agitates and the candy dissolves faster.

Sounds intriguing. What's a good candidate whiskey to use? Not too expensive or overpowering I would think.

Craig

Sounds intriguing. What's a good candidate whiskey to use? Not too expensive or overpowering I would think.

Craig

You'll want to use something with of a rye recipe, not wheat. This is an old-fashioned, pre-Prohibition treat (c. 1875-1880, by some accounts) that is a progenitor, with fruit added, to today's Rock & Rye (rock candy and rye whiskey).