Birdman's Re-Barrel OWA

birdman1099
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I started this thread to cronicle the progression of my re-barrel project.

I just ordered a 5L barrel, medium char, from Oak Barrels LTD.

I decided to put 4.5 liters of new label OWA in it. It will be stored in my attached garage. I will see fairly big temp swings, but not like an out building... but that is all I have.:rolleyes:

My thoughts are that during the winter I will not see a big difference over a few months. If I am incorrect, please chime in.

Also feel free to give me your 2 cents on what to do throughout this project. I have never done this before, so all input would be appreciated.

and 1 quick question....

I was surprised how much of Greg's juice was lost due to evaporation and sampling.... What would be the affects of wrapping the barrell in Saran Wrap to cut down on evaporation????

Wish me luck !!!:grin:

I decided to put 4.5 liters of new label OWA in it. It will be stored in my attached garage. I will see fairly big temp swings, but not like an out building... but that is all I have.:rolleyes:

My thoughts are that during the winter I will not see a big difference over a few months. If I am incorrect, please chime in.

Also feel free to give me your 2 cents on what to do throughout this project. I have never done this before, so all input would be appreciated.

and 1 quick question....

I was surprised how much of Greg's juice was lost due to evaporation and sampling.... What would be the affects of wrapping the barrell in Saran Wrap to cut down on evaporation????

Scott - sounds like a great project and nice selection on the OWA. Don't underestimate the changes a new barrel will bring. I put my VOB in barrel November and the changes were fast and dramatic in the beginning and then leveled off over the subsequent 8 months.