1971 Old Grand-Dad BIB Question

Enoch
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

Just bought a 1971 sealed quart bottle of Old Grand-Dad BIB for $29.99 on eBay. First time buying bourbon on eBay. Has anyone tried Old Grand-Dad from this time and your experiences with buying bourbon on eBay.

eBay is a dirty word to a lot of SB.com'ers but I love eBay for this example here, you got a rare old bottle of excellent bourbon.

eBay has some great opportunities to get some great bottles.

I am sure you will love that '71 OGD, it is a primo bottle.

$29 is not a reasonable price, it's a great price, IMHO.

I've never had any 1970's OGD, and I'm not a bourbon expert by any stretch, but I have had ND 86 and BIB from the 80's and early 90's and I absolutely love it. If I could choose one bourbon as an everyday pour, it might be ND OGD. I have about 10 bottles bunkered and it freaks me out how little I have. I keep hunting NYC and every bottle I find make my heart sing when I see it.

You're inclining me to check eBay more often, I'd pay that for ND OGD all day long.

I assume you were able to date it with the tax stamp, yes? Out of curiosity, how old was it?

I haven't received it yet but will let you know. The date she said is from the stamp.

post-5814-14489817250518_thumb.jpg

post-5814-14489817250259_thumb.jpg

post-5814-14489817250259_thumb.jpg

post-5814-14489817250518_thumb.jpg

I have scored some pretty good buys off ebay. My favorite so far has been a 1968 Old Fitz BiB for about 65 bucks. I have gotten some ND OGD 86's for under 30 a bottle as well. I really like that juice.

That being said, I have perhaps paid quite a bit more than I should have on some bottles but I have yet to really regret an ebay purchase.