What is it that I'm tasting

DreamTheater
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

So my collection of bourbon in 2011 went from 3 bottles to around 88. Call me a happier man. Having collected all these bottles, I have landed on a handful that I find most delicious above the others.

I'm not an expert on recipes and mash bills but my favorite bourbons are WL Weller 107 -> Old Rip Van Winkle 10 yr 107 proof -> William Larue Weller from the antiques collection. I loosely understand that I am drinking the same exact thing in all three, but that each one is a step up in quality. Am I correct on this count? They certainly all taste the same if not increasingly better quality.

But to the point of my post, what I find so utterly wonderful about these bourbons is their cloying sweetness, that stick-to-your-gums flavor that is almost reminiscent of brown sugar. I get this in ONLY these bourbons.

Contrast this against some of my other favorites like Knob Creek or Jefferson's Very Old - both of which are fantastic, but lack those qualities.

Can someone explain to me what it is that makes my favorites so unique in their mouth feel, taste profile, etc? Are there any other bourbons out there that are essentially a spot-on match for them?

Thanks!

Try the Weller 12 and Weller Special Reserve if you haven't already. Then for the heck of it throw in some Makers Mark just to see how much better the BT wheaters are.

Try the Weller 12 and Weller Special Reserve if you haven't already. Then for the heck of it throw in some Makers Mark just to see how much better the BT wheaters are.

Awwww... Was the pot shot at Maker's really necessary? I know it is cool to bash it around here, but it is still a good wheater in its own right., and another example of a good bourbon with that great "brown sugar" taste.