Highland Park 12 notes

Alden
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

This is my first taste of this one, and I'm not an expert at this, neither am I a total novice. This is what I get:

Ocean

Honey

Leather

Iodine

Band aids

and waaaaay at the end, smoky burned peat (which is also where the Band aids flavor seems to originate)

It's all very balanced and quite interesting. Not a peat monster at all. Absolutely nothing like bourbon or rye.

I really like HP 12. This might become a staple :)

Absolutely nothing like bourbon or rye.

I find that I can only enjoy a scotch if I throw the idea out of my mind that it should taste like american whiskey. Like when I drink beer, I'm not trying to compare it to whiskey. Same with scotch. No comparison to bourbon.

I find that I can only enjoy a scotch if I throw the idea out of my mind that it should taste like american whiskey. Like when I drink beer, I'm not trying to compare it to whiskey. Same with scotch. No comparison to bourbon.

I think this is why so many bourbon drinkers hate scotch. They have a preconception that all whiskey should taste like what they have always had, because it always has, then when they taste the old world stuff it freaks them out.

I started the other way around, scotch and Irish whisky first, then American whiskey later. It worked out better for me that way.

Ocean

Honey

Leather

Iodine

Band aids

and waaaaay at the end, smoky burned peat (which is also where the Band aids flavor seems to originate)

I feel like this would make for a good prompt for a creative writing assignment for your class. Nice notes, like your succinct style.

I'm glad to see you enjoyed the HP12 and it is a great SMS to get your feet wet on,great profile and the pricing is quite accessible for most.The HP12 is one that I always have around and all that try it always seem to enjoy,welcome to the Darkside.:grin: