Trip to Scotland and Ireland

bgageus
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

My inlaws are heading for a 3 week trip at the end of July and are willing to do some searching for me. I am a foreign whiskey novice, but cant pass up the offer to get some brought back. Two questions, is there a reasonable method to ship their finds back to me, and what do I ask them for. Something obviously that I cant really get here.

Not alot there you can't get in Houston, or something similar, unless you're talking about some very high end (expensive) limited release singles such as a 16 year distillery expression Mortlach.

I would have them grab some of the difficult to find blends such as Blue Hanger or Bailie Nicol Jarvie. The merchants can arrange shipping so as to insure safety and avoid VAT.

From Ireland I would recommend Green spot and Yellow spot Irish whiskies. Neither are available in the US and both are very good.

Edited by p_elliott

There's a Cadenhead shop in Edinburgh, as far as I know their bottlings isn't available in the US. They even bottle bourbons, but they are rare.

Steffen

ingstingst

There's a Cadenhead shop in Edinburgh, as far as I know their bottlings isn't available in the US. They even bottle bourbons, but they are rare.

Steffen

They just told me they are heading to this shop for a tasting. I forgot about the spots, that will be on the ask list.

Steffen

Cadenheads also does gin and, as we discovered last night, some nice rums! Steve had a 25 yo Demerara rum from Cadenhead which had been aged in Campbelton, Scotland. The current owners of the brand also own Springbank.