Where do I start?

squarre
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I'm new to bourbon and trying to get an idea of where to start. What is a good bottle to go with early on? Should I buy a couple of different bottles to get an idea of differences or stick with one bottle to begin?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Welcom to the board "squarre", always good to have another Ga member. My advice, and I am admittedly new to Bourbon, is to buy serveral bottles and try them all. It's doubtful that you'll find one you terribly dislike and most likely you will like each one for different reasons.

Buy small (50-200 mil) bottles at first, that way you can stock up on the ones you like but don't have a big bottle to finish on the ones you don't.

Hard to find better advice than this: http://www.straightbourbon.com/forums/showthread.php?14401-How-To-Get-Started

(Forum - Bourbon Discussion - New to Straightbourbon - Sticky: How to Get Started)

Excellent suggestion by miller542, the thread linked above is full of great advice. I was hardly "new to bourbon" when I joined this forum, but being a part of this community has taught me a lot. It's a journey limited only by your curiosity and your wallet, but you don't have to spend a lot to get started with the basics. My only advice - don't get frustrated if you can't find/taste all the seemingly amazing choices mentioned on these boards. It will come with time, and if you miss out on something - well, there's lots of others out there. Welcome aboard.