Cork vs. Screw Top

pouringwhiskey
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

As I'm sure all of you are aware, Weller Antique 107 has an impending price increase (going from $25/750ml to $50/750ml). With that in mind, do you think they will keep the screw top or replace it with a cork? Is there a certain price point you feel should justify a cork? I'm fairly new to the game, has anything similar happened in the past? It is my understanding that Henry McKenna BiB used to sport a screw top, but the 3 bottles I have purchased all have a cork. I am interested to hear some input on the subject.

I think corks are there to satisfy the perception that the whiskey is of a higher quality, so my guess would be that it will probably be a cork finish. In reality the screw cap is a better closure.

• I like it 2

7 minutes ago, Old Hippie said:

I think corks are there to satisfy the perception that the whiskey is of a higher quality, so my guess would be that it will probably be a cork finish. In reality the screw cap is a better closure.

There have been a few discussions on this over the years but my belief is Plastic Screw Top>Synthetic Cork>Natural Cork>Composite Cork>Metal Screw Top.

• I like it 4

There have been a few discussions on this over the years but my belief is Plastic Screw Top>Synthetic Cork>Natural Cork>Composite Cork>Metal Screw Top.

Perfect hierarchy!
  • I like it 1

My hierarchy would be:

Natural Cork >/= metal screw top (ala Beam)> Composite Cork>plastic screw top>synthetic cork.

I’m still a sucker for the “thwump” sound of a natural cork being pulled from a bottle, though maybe less so than a couple of years ago.  

• I like it 1