Is there such thing as bourbon schizophrenia?

DanP
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I’m still a newbie as far as drinking bourbon goes, but I’m working diligently to achieve a higher status.  My first introduction was about three years ago when a buddy bought me a bottle of Four Roses.  Prior to that the closest I came to bourbon was the occasional Crown and coke at a tailgate.  But I decided to dedicate myself to acclimating to it, and it took about 3-4 months  to get to the point that I could taste flavor over the alcohol burn.

I have now grown my bar to about 30 bourbons and scotches, and on any given day I find myself drinking wildly different flavors.  I have yet to settle.  Today I started with some Conviction Oloroso (gifted by a friend) and now am sipping some Dalmore Cigar Malt.  Could those be more different?!

Does anyone else do this?  Some days I’m looking for something sweet, others something more earthy, and others I want a bit of both.  I would hate to have to settle for one, but I suppose I’d have to say EH Taylor might be it for me.  In any case, it feels like schizophrenia.

I play the entire range of spirits-- and certainly feel no shame.

The local bourbon guys typically describe their pours as delicious or “hitting all the right notes”-- which is great, but even as a kid I ordered the weirdest-sounding thing on the menu just to experience what it looked, smelled and tasted like— and never ordered the same thing twice. Same holds true with spirits.

Have fun.

• I like it 1

It's very mood driven for me.  While not in Marekv8's league, I also enjoy a wide variety of whiskey and spirits.  Sometimes a certain bottle is killing it for on a given night and stick with that dance partner all night.  Other times I'm bouncing around all over the place as one set of flavors leads to seek out another set of flavors.   That's all part of the fun.