Lesson learned! Knob Creek 12year

Dedward429
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

So I'm new to whiskey and recently saw a self filled to the limit with KC12 for 60$ a bottle at a grocery store. My instincts told me to buy it, but I talked myself out of it thinking I could just grab one next week. They are now sold out everywhere and a local liquor store is selling them for 120$. Im guessing new stock won't be out until next year? Next time I'm getting 2.

2 hours ago, Dedward429 said:

So I'm new to whiskey and recently saw a self filled to the limit with KC12 for 60$ a bottle at a grocery store. My instincts told me to buy it, but I talked myself out of it thinking I could just grab one next week. They are now sold out everywhere and a local liquor store is selling them for 120$. Im guessing new stock won't be out until next year? Next time I'm getting 2.

As my wife says, if you see it and want it, buy it.  Often, others will snap it up before you get a chance.

You will see it again.  Probably sooner than you think.  Don't second guess yourself on passing up something only to miss out.  Plenty of good bourbon out there.  As you say, if you see it again, you won't pass.  Think of it this way.  If you haven't tried it, you really haven't missed out on anything.  For me, while I like KC12, I am just as happy with two bottles of KC9.  No KC9?  OK, then I move on to WT101 or OF100.  Plenty of options.  None better than the other.  Just different.

• I like it 9

If it makes you feel any better, I pass on KC12 frequently, because I just don’t find it all that fantastic. 
It’ll show up again at retail.

There’s a decent amount of it out there.

In the meantime, try finding it at a bar and try a pour.  You might decide (like me), that you’re better of leaving the bottles for others…

• I like it 6

36 minutes ago, 0895 said: