Why do distilleries sell to others?

WhiskeyProposition
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

Probably not wording the title too well, so here's the dumbed down version:

Lucky Seven Proprietor 14 year got rave reviews. It's suspected that it's sourced from Barton. Why would Barton sell 15 year old whiskey to a company like Lucky Seven rather than release it under one of their own brands? Why not release it as a 1792 15 year or something?

I'm sure there's a perfectly logical explanation, I just don't know what it is. 

I have zero intimate knowledge here; but, I'll hazard a guess...

Sazerac has a goodly number of their own brands.   Many of 'em are quite successful, and I'm sure make 'em ooodles of cheddar.    The 15-year old stuff possibly didn't fit the profile of any of their brands, it would likely only deteriorate if left much longer, and rather than piss off loyal customers by introducing a "one-off" brand just to sell a relatively small amount of distillate, then stop selling the brand for lack of more whiskey matching the profile, they decided to see if one of the multitude of NDP's wanted to pay 'em a large premium to take it off their hands... and maybe even get to charge 'em for bottling it (Barton has a huge bottling business).    Like I said, I don't have a clue if this is what happened; but, it could explain the situation.

• I like it 1