Export Only bourbons

AVB
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

Every once in a while I know somebody going to Japan and give them a list of bourbons to look for. I don't get lucky too often but I have managed an Evan Williams 23 and a Martin Mills 24 recently. Does anybody know of a better way to go about getting export only product?

On a different note, looking for more Hirsch 20 and will pay. If you have one to turn over let's negotiate.

This being my first post if I have breeched any etiquette rules by asking for sources or offering to buy, then a nudge with a pointed stick should be enough to prevent it in the future. I might be a newbie here but I've got around 30 years of bourbon behind me and 50 more in front. grin.gif

Does anybody know of a better way to go about getting export only product?

You can always try The Whisky Exchange . Thru them I´ve managed to get hold of many a "pesky" export item, for instance, FR super premium, JD master distiller, Harper President´s reserve etc.

Problem is, if you are based on the other side of the Atlantic, then I imagine the p&p prices will be of a murderous nature.

I've bought one scotch from them I needed and the shipping was a killer at £35 per bottle. I imagine a bottle of bourbon won't be any different.

• 1 month later...

At the right price I might be willing to give up a bottle or two from my stash. My wife is giving me grief about my bunker-bottles, but I need a decent price to justify losing an unreplaceable bottle.

I've got a friend comming back from Japan in a few weeks.

What sort of 'export only' product is available there?

Do any of the Japan guys know where I'd send him to find them?

Hi Cameron,