Open Bottles

Brennan77
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I'm new to bourbon and, man, already I'm starting to accumulate bottles on the shelf. My concern is open bottles. I'm enjoying tasting different bourbons, but is it safe to open the bottles and have them sit after initial opening, while I taste and enjoy a bit here and there? Are there cork issues I should be aware of? What's the general life span, if it is limited at all, that a bourbon will stay at its potential after opening?

BTW, so far I have a bottle of Elijah Craig 12, Eagle Rare 10, Russell's Reserve 101(an extra unopened bottle that I'm giving away for Christmas as well), and now a bottle of Elmer T Lee. That should last me a while, but I can't help but be pulled toward different bottles every time I visit the store. Christmas is coming up and there's a bottle of Rock Hill that looks really nice. Then again, that Stagg 141 is looking interesting as well.

Does it ever stop? Do you ever find the one or two pours that just do it for you? Or is this an unending and ever changing quest I've unwittingly undertaken.

Many here seem to have different views on this. I personally feel that once a bottle gets below about half full it needs to be drank in 6 months or so. Though I have noticed a change in less than 6 months most seem to handle that time frame. I usually limit the number I have open to somewhere in the 3-5 range though periods where I'll have many guests(ie. this time of year) I will usually have a couple more open, knowing that they will be gone through in good time, but with the 3-5 limits I know they will be gone through without pushing that time frame. A mostly full well capped bottle should have little change for a long period of time, but even a well capped 1/4 full bottle seems(to me) to deteriorate at a rapid rate.