Off to the UK, what to bring back?

hokiedave92
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

OK, guys and gals, I'm soon off to the UK for a weekend and want to get some recommendations on what to bring back in the way of single malt scotch. Last time over I brought back Glenfarclas 25 YO. I'm not too experienced in scotches, here's what I've tried so far: Glenfarclas 25, Glenlivet, Glenfiddich, Dalwhinnie, and Laphroig. I'm looking for something that's near impossible to find here in the States. Recommendations?

I'm not too worried about style. For better or worse, I haven't found a scotch or bourbon yet that I truly dislike.

Thanks,

Dave

The supermarkets do some cheap and often very good own bottlings. Waitroise does a 23yo port aged speyside number for around £20 (possibly Glenfarclas). I've tried it and it is worth a go. Also their 'Island' single malt is good (actually Highland Park).

More conventionally:

Ardbeg Very young - super charged peat.

Serendipity (rated 96/100 by Jim Murray)

Don't really know what other stuff might be hard for you to get.

Last time I was in London (and Edinburgh), I went to Royal Mile Whiskies to look for bourbons (they have a large scotch range too)

The staff were friendly, knew their products and could direct me to several 'export only' bourbons that they stocked.

I was also chasing Van Winkle products, and they couldn't say enough good things about them :)

OK, guys and gals, I'm soon off to the UK for a weekend and want to get some recommendations on what to bring back in the way of single malt scotch.

There are some bottlings that are available only in duty-free stores. I got a non-chill filtered 10yo Ardbeg that is available only there. You might want to stop at one when you arrive and check the situation out so you know what is available. Then you will know what not to buy on the open market.

Jeff