Wild Turkey -- RR or RB, which is preferred?

GlennB
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I'm still pretty much a newbie here, but I'm enjoying learning.

Which of these 2 Wild Turkey products, Russells Reserve (RR) or Rare Breed (RB), is considered the better of the two? And, is there more than one version of each, i.e, different proofs, different aging? If so, which is preferred?

By the way, I'm still hoping to come across a bottle of Four Roses SB.

Thanks,

Glenn

I wouldn't say one is "better" than the other, just different. The RB tends toward the dry side of the spectrum, while the RR is sweeter. Both are well worth getting. :drink:

And, is there more than one version of each, i.e, different proofs, different aging?

There have been two versions of RR-101 which has been discontinued and the 90 which replaced it

RB is a small batch that is bottled at barrel proof and therefore varies slightly in proof.

While the RR 101 is the preferred around here both are excellent drams-as are all WT products. RB again varies slightly from batch to batch, but is consistently excellent.

I will say that both are excellent bourbons, but my preference has always leaned to Rare Breed.

Tim

I'll second that. I find the RB to be slightly more complex and usually "better" but all the Turkey's are great. I enjoy looking for the differences. The similarities are very evident. By the way, I'm finding the current RB (WT03RB?) to be the best in quite some time. A really good batch!

Ken

How weird to see this question crop up since it was only yesterday that I tried the two of them, side by side.

Despite its higher proof, I find RB to be more gentle in its approach. RR, on the other hand, is kind of rough and sophisticated at the same time.

Where they both shine the brightest are in the finish. Peppery milk chocolate with RR and toasty liquorice with RB.