PDA

View Full Version : When you're having more than one

cas
10-19-2008, 15:46
When you are sitting down to have a few glasses of bourbon do you usually have several glasses of the same kind or do you switch from glass to glass? I find I usually switch from one to another with successive glasses, trying to discern the differences. Though I'm not very good at it. What about others on the board - how do you usually sip your bourbon?
Craig

bluesbassdad
10-19-2008, 15:53
Back in the days when I wasn't taking meds with a no-alcohol caution on the label I would often have two drinks at one sitting. (Having a third usually caused me to lose count.)

When drinking solely for enjoyment I usually stuck with one bottling. Only if my first pick didn't hit the spot would I switch.

Rarely I would set out to do a comparison so I'd have something worthwhile to post here. However, even with small pours and the best concentration I could muster I usually found myself losing my frame of reference. I have what it takes to be a drinker, but not a serious taster.

Yours truly,
Dave Morefield

spun_cookie
10-19-2008, 16:00
I usually stick with one unless we are doing a comparison... over a long period of time I may roll through a couple, but if I start with X, I end with X unless I empty the bottle...

Tonight I oured the last 1-2 oz from my WTRR1010, I an not sure what I will have next... something that is open I am sure...

ggilbertva
10-19-2008, 16:16
There's no hard and fast rule. I normally do not have more than 1 pour in an evening so the question is moot for me...typically. Last night though, I bounced around between Ancient Age BIB, Balvenie Doublewood 12 yr, Johnny Walker Blue and Cherry Coke.

barturtle
10-19-2008, 16:19
Johnny Walker Blue and Cherry Coke.

Does that work? Not sure it sounds like something I'd like.

In an attempt to stay on topic for a change: