PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Northern Ireland

Guinness Guy
11-05-2008, 07:08
Hello guys and girls, i have been looking through the forums for about a month now, and thought it was about time i introduced myself, my name is Gareth and i am from Belfast, Northern Ireland . I have been really impressed with the knowledge of all the users. I am just starting out on the bourbon trail, and am keen to find out more about the different types and brands of bourbon. Straight off the bat i am going to ask a question, my local liquor store doesnt have a great choice of bourbon, the last time i checked they had, Jack Daniels, Jim Beam white & black and Woodford Reserve. Are any of these worth buying? And finally, is it acceptable to mix bourbon with coke or other mixers, or is that considered ruining it? Thanks for accepting me into straightbourbon and i look forward to your reply...

smokinjoe
11-05-2008, 07:41
Welcome, Gareth! I'm sure you'll enjoy your time here. I look forward to hearing your thoughts and ideas during your journey on the bourbon trail, as it's alway nice to here perspectives from folks from around the world. Yes, you're right, that's not the greatest selection of bourbons and Tennessee whiskey (Jack D) you have there. But, it's a fine place to start. If it were me, I'd get 'em all!:D I would rate the Beam Black and Woodford as the best. Beam white is rather pedestrian, but OK nonetheless. The Jack is OK (OK, so I'm a little biased against Tennessee Whiskey ;)).
Around here in Bourbonia, it is entirely acceptable and encouraged to drink your bourbon any way you like it. Neat, over ice, mixed with coke. Heck, if you enjoy snorting it up your nose, then have at it! It's all about what YOU like!

Again, welcome and have fun.

NeoTexan
11-05-2008, 09:20
Welcome to the family. Hope you enjoy the journey.