PDA

View Full Version : Please allow me to introduce myself

Stick
12-26-2012, 13:18
New to StraightBourbon but not new to bourbon. I AM new to good bourbon hence my presence here. I'm in VA, in fact a native. My last name is Bowman but before anyone asks, no I am not related, AFAIK, to any Bowman making money on bourbon. Although back in the 30's probably some relatives were producing and selling whiskey, but I doubt the time it took to get it from Powhatan to Richmond, even then, allowed it to age enough to qualify as bourbon. :lol: I'm old enough now to believe that life is too short for schwag bourbon. I am anxious to learn more. I've had Woodford Reserve, Knob Creek, Jack Daniels No.7 (although I think that is Tennessee whiskey and not bourbon), Wild Turkey 101 and currently enjoying, as in as I'm typing this, John J. Bowman Single Barrel. I plan on learning to ascend from those.

Bulldog IN
12-26-2012, 16:57
I'm pretty new to SB myself, but welcome.

One thing I've learned from the good people on this forum is to not overlook the items at price points lower than what I have already tried and enjoyed. I'm learning a lot and tasting a lot of good bourbon at different dollar amounts. I hope you experience the same.

ChainWhip
12-26-2012, 17:00
Welcome indeed - I appreciate your notion about life being too short. Looking forward to your contributions here.

Curtisc84
12-26-2012, 17:09
Welcome to the forum. You'll find many kind people willing to give feedback and recommendations here.

Bourbon Boiler
12-26-2012, 17:31
Welcome. I'll echo the sentiment that price and quality are not always linear. Since you've got WT101 on the list, I'd suggest you try some of their other releases (Rare Breed, Russell's Reserve, Kentucky Spirit all under $45) and try to fet a feel for WHY you like what you like. That can save a lot of time (and money) down the road.

squire
12-27-2012, 10:18