PDA

View Full Version : New Here, and New to Bourbon

Nick Danger
02-25-2013, 23:10
Hello, all!

I'm Nick from Chicago, and I'm new to bourbon. I've been a scotch drinker for a while and recently decided to expand my horizons.

I have exactly two bottles on my shelf right now:

Elmer T. Lee Single Barrel
Elijah Craig 12yr.

I love the Elmer T. Lee. I'm less crazy about the Elijah Craig. I find the Elijah Craig to be a bit too heavy on the oak flavor and, to my uneducated palate, less complex than the Elmer T. Lee. I don't hate it, I just find it a lot less enjoyable than the Elmer T. Lee. Please forgive me if I've spoken ill of your favorite whiskey - I'm still learning and my tastes are not very sophisticated yet.

I drink my bourbon neat - no ice or mixer.

Based on this tiny bit of information, can you recommend other bourbons in that $25-40ish range that I might like as much as the Elmer T. Lee?

I'm not quite ready to spend the money on a bottle of Blanton's, but I'm told that I'll probably like it very much.

Is it even worth mentioning that the best bourbon I've tried at a bar was the Pappy Van Winkle 20yr? Or does pretty much everyone love that one? I'm definitely not ready to spend that kind of money, not that I could even find a bottle in the store.

Thank you for your recommendations. I plan to do a lot of reading on this forum, and I also plan to visit a good bourbon bar in Chicago for a few tastings before I buy any more full bottles. The Elijah Craig was a slight disappointment given how much praise it got from the guy at the liquor store (the same one who had previously recommended the Elmer T. Lee.)

Nick

Pieface
02-26-2013, 00:43
Welcome Nick.

No harm, no foul on the EC12 - it sure is a polarising whiskey around here.

Have you tried Old Grandad 114 or Old Weller Antique yet? They might be cheaper than your $25 mark depending on your location or unavailable but they are widely thought of as "good value".