PDA

View Full Version : New 2 Whiskey - Many Qusetions

New2Whiskey
01-21-2008, 06:35
Greetings from Chicago!

I am 'learning' whiskey. 30 years old. Always prefered to drink spirits without dilluting them. "Drunk" never my intention or results. I believe spirits are meant to be enjoyed like a great meal.

However, I am not a seasoned pro by any means. I don't go to bars. Don't drink habitually. Just a regular joe. So any knowledge I have is mostly from forums. At present during my learning phase I only have tasted Dewar's 12 Year Old Scotch. And Old Grand Dad Bourbon.

Regardless...let me quickly ask these questions:

GLASS - Target has the Reidel line on clearance. Would this be a good start? Which glass? I've read Single Malt glasses or bourbon glasses in the forum. I currently drink my whiskey in a rocks glass. I assume I drink it neat.

NEAT - Ok. I pour 2 ounces into a rocks glass and sip. What is 'standard' amount to pour? When you all refer to 'nosing', does that mean you just smell it and don't drink from that glass?

I have more questions but I'll start gathering my thoughts and posting them in the appropriate area.

barturtle
01-21-2008, 07:18
Welcome. Learning whiskey is something that, up until now, hasn't really been explored. So at this point rules are pretty flexible, but here are some of my basic guidelines:

Glass: honestly almost any glass will do. The Reidel line makes some nice glassware, but you really don't have to spend that kind of money to enjoy whiskey. Some small to medium sized snifters or other 5-7 oz rocks glass will work just fine. I've even used 1-1/2- 2 oz glasses with excellent results. Make sure you have plenty of them, so you can try multiple whiskies side-by-side, and make sure they are clean(now is the time to ditch the scented dishwashing liquid). Bang for your buck, I use IKEA REKO glasses, 6 for $2.00!!!