Old Forester Birthday Bourbon

Guy Debord
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

Hi All,

I was out this weekend at a local spot and had a pour of their OFBB 2013, wow. This was so great, I wish I could buy 2 bottles.

Does anyone know when this gets released (Before or after September 2nd) and who is known to get allocations in the Chicago area?

Thanks,

I have been drinking OFBB since the early 2000s, and there have been some really good ones over the years, 2005 and 2010, stand out the most......until 2013. 2013 OFBB was a great bourbon. They are not all that level, most of the time they are very good at best. If you see one from any year I would buy it, they are usually always very good.

They usually start showing up on shelves around the beginning of October down here.

Echo that they are typically very good, but I'm disappointed that the price has been steadily increasing recently. It moved from the "must buy" column to the "must try first" column in my book.

It is a solid bourbon every year. It's the only age stated bourbon available from Brown Foreman and it is 12 years old.

And price increases from BF are as regular as any producer in the business.

And price increases from BF are as regular as any producer in the business.

Maybe they just punish Atlanta :lol: I can't think of any other labels that have gone up at the rate this one has. It was $35 in 2011, $40 in 2012, $45 in 2013 - nearly a 30% uptick in two years. That's significantly more than the increase I've seen for most everything else (even BTAC hasn't gone up at that clip - yet). I'm expecting it to be $50 this year if the trend continues. While it is a solid bourbon - no argument there (I've never tried a "bad one") - the variability from year to year don't make it an auto-buy at $45 or $50 for me.