Hello All! Newbie Here!

scotchyjr
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

Hello all! I'm new to this board. I found your site via the scotch news group. Hope you don't mind a newbie to whisky/whiskey and bourbon with lots of questions! lol.

Anyway, after about twelve different bottles of single malt scotch, and a bottle of Jameson Irish whiskey, I decided to try bourbon. So yesterday I picked up a bottle of Elijah Craig 12.

And I have to say, it's very yummy. This tasted like the perfect after dinner/before you go to bed dram. Yummy!

One thing I noticed about all the scotch's I tried, they were all light. Very very light. Almost too light for me. I kept hoping I would find one that was as rich as jack Daniels and tasted better. I don't think I have found one yet that tasted better, except Highland Park, which I find outstanding. Maybe I shouldn't say no scotch tasted better than jack D. but none had the flavor I was looking for.

But that Elijah Craig was perfect. I don't know, maybe because I'm an American my makeup is automatically geared more towards American whiskey (bourbon/Canadian) than the scotches. I guess you call the scotch's light taste "peaty" and the U.S. whiskeys "sweet". Maybe I like the sweet taste because all the diet coke I drink.

So, here I am, drinking a dram of Elijah Craig. And I'm looking forward to jumping into the world of American bourbon whiskey!

Welcome, aboard!

As a S****h drinker, you would like EC 12 yo bourbon. It has a different, harsher, taste from many other bourbons. I, personally, don't like EC 12, but many other folks do like it.

You want to try many other bourbons, to get a feel for the variety and, maybe you will find others to your liking!