Turning 50 in two weeks: any special bottle recommendations?

WhiskeyBlender
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

Hey All, 

So, I turn the big 5-0 in a two weeks, and I'm wanting to get a "gift to self" special Bourbon. I'm a little embarrassed to admit this, since as many on here know on here, I work in the industry. However, I'm probably not as up on some of the most interesting Bourbons out there as many of you are. Although I get to taste and work with a lot of cool things, they are almost always cask samples, so it isn't that often that I actually buy finished Bourbon products. 

Generally, I tend to prefer Bourbons that have rye rather than wheat as the small grain. Also, just so you know where my tastes tend to go, I love GTS, and even WLW although wheat is the small grain, but that's really hard for me to find around here anymore. I'm also a big Turkey fan. I'm open to other things of course, but quite frankly I just haven't been tasting a lot of new products lately, so I don't really know what everyone is finding to be interesting. 

Price isn't so much an issue (let's say under $1500,), but quality and quaffability most certainly ARE paramount. 

Any recommendations out there? 

Cheers, and many thanks!

Nancy

If your a Turkey fan and with your connections perhaps you could get some special bottling of dusty Turkey or some of the older National Distillers Taylor or Old Grand Dad in trade? I figured others would be more helpful in new bottle recommendations but wanted to throw this out as an option as it’s not probably the route you where thinking.

Another thought with your love of French Brandy some 50+ year old Cognac, Armagnac or Calvados. Also not bourbon but hey with your price point it would be cool to drink something older than you. Or something with a 1970 barrel date?

Look forward to the suggestions that come in.