help with choosing bourbons

thunderbroom
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I'm fairly new to bourbon and drinking in general and i'm so glad i found this website. i have learned so much from everyone's posts. Last week i purchased some bourbons discussed here and now that i have had a chance to sample them i was hoping that i could get some recomendations of what to try next.

ewsb 94' -didn't like this one, had an oily feel and green

vegetal taste.

bookers -omg one of my favorites vanilla and cinnamon.

van winkle SR lot b-Top of my list, smooth.

EW weller SR -growing to like this one, very spicy. Woodford reserve -jury is out on this one, nothing has stood out yet, but i have had a lot to taste. drinking.gif

Based on these newbie descriptions what would you guys suggest i try next? forgot to say that i have had maker's. Infact that was my "gateway" bourbon.-daniel

i recommend trying Elijah Craig 12. I really think that it is a good balanced bourbon and very sweet and of course good for just about any budget at 18-20 dollars or so.

I am very fond of Weller 12 year old. It's one of the smoothest bourbons out there, and gets great reviews. For some reason, not many know about it. (great price also!)

I would definitely recommend trying the Wild Turkey products. Russell's Reserve is one of my favorites -- heavy and rich with spice and vanilla. If you want something barrel-proof like Booker's, try the Rare Breed.

You might also try a straight rye for something a bit different but in the same neighborhood. The Wild Turkey rye is fairly easy to find and quite good. Sazerac or Van Winkle Rye are even better, if you can find them.

I would recommend:

<ul type="square">[*]Old Charter Proprietor's Reserve

[*]Eagle Rare Single Barrel

[*]Elijah Craig 12 year

[*]Knob Creek

[*]Wild Turkey Rare Breed (very different than any of the other bourbons on this list)