BT single oak and a diatribe

RWBadley
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

I need to pounce on my soapbox for a minute... This is an observance I have been formulating thoughts on for the last year -two years.

If I am wrong- off base about this I'd love to hear your take on it...

A few recent threads have got me thinking. Namely one on 'trends' and the other on recent price increases affecting the direction of our avocation.

Yesterday I was in my local retailer. Great place, good guy. He came out holding a case with newest batch of BT single oak experimental.

Four or five different barrel numbers. Priced at $70 per 350ml. I was rather stunned when he told me the price, and I hastily slid the bottle back in the case while mumbling a 'maybe next time'...

Now, while I am grateful to have the opportunity to purchase these fine items, a couple things hit me....

If I purchase One, then I have no comparison to the others and contrast/compare of the flavor profiles within the experiment becomes moot and thus somewhat pointless.

The purchase of several would mean a rather severe depletion of funds that could go to other related items that are a rather more known quantity, and most likely a better value--- an example of Take your pick ; OWA, Parkers 7th, MM, KC, OGD 114 etc...