Pappy and the hunt...is it worth it?

loki993
This topic has been inactive for at least 365 days, and is now closed. Please feel free to start a new thread on the subject! 

Please don't skewer me for asking about it..I know some people people seem to be sensitive about questions regarding pappy. Im just getting into bourbon, a little under a year. Ive heard about Pappy but kind of just chalked to Im now and it probably would be worth it to me to chase at this point anyway. So now is the season for it and part of me wants to try and get some.

Here is the dilemma...obviously the difficulty of getting a bottle...honestly the chance are pretty slim..but there is a chance...Secondly the money..up to this point mt most expensive bottle I have was 50 bucks and my average is more like 25....tons of great stuff i the price range to keep my occupied...

So if I wanted to treat myself this holiday season with an expensive bottle.....is chasing pappy worth it or should I look elsewhere for something different? I mean you have to do it at least once right? Or even just buy 2 bottles of something cheaper.....

No problem asking - I just think you'll have a hard time finding and might end up frustrated. See if you can find it in a bar and while the pour might be expensive, it will be cheaper than the bottle and might satisfy your curiosity.

As to alternatives - what do you like? If you like rye-based, one of the Four Rose's LEs are usually findable and quite a treat - or maybe one of the Parker's Heritage Collection ... while these aren't as easy to find as a couple of years ago, they are still more likely to be found on the shelf than any of the PVW.

Good Day-